Testing

Ten Quote Tuesday is a great feature on A Writer’s Path, one of my favorite blogs.  There are always writing prompts at the end and I decided to try one this week: Start out a scene with this phrase, “I refuse to close my eyes anymore.”

I refuse to close my eyes anymore.

My eyelids squeeze tighter as I make up my mind. I can’t take the dark within the darkness any longer. The unseen whispers against my skin are not going away and are no more bearable when my own lashes mimic their taunts.

I notice the drum of my heart has switched from thrash metal to techno and my breath is not choking me as it was – how long ago?

There goes my heart again.

Gathering the unraveling thread of my decision I force my lids to obey my command.

I don’t want to know it.

I can’t stay like this though.

My throat clenches as if connected by a counter weight to my eyes. My heart is back to techno but I can’t tell if my eyes are open. It’s almost like i didn’t accomplish anything.

I blink to know it’s true; the darkness beyond is as thick as I imagined.

I exhale with a vengeance and feel the air come back at my face immediately. I twist my wrist to the side and hit the barrier instantly. Point my toes; same block.

Oh shit.

There goes my heart again.

12 thoughts on “Testing

Add yours

      1. Well the first thing I thought of was having an MRI. Probably totally wrong guess. I may have been taking my cues from your title. So maybe it’s still a little vague. But I have a HORRID lack of imagination!

      2. My thought was someone buried alive…I didn’t put a lot of thought into the title though. Your interpretation does make sense when you look at that. My creative juices were running low I guess lol

  1. Loved the fact that there was something tangible going on – sometimes a lot of nicely written stuff is just internalised angst with no exterior action, but this is cool. I did have to re-read the last third (not a problem with the writing) just to confirm my initial suspicion that the person was perhaps in a coffin. I like it when I think I’m right & it’s even better when you get it confirmed in your comment above! 🙂

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

labyless

Defining Intangibles

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Drinkers with Writing Problems

Literature by the Lit Up

Useless Book Club

J S Malpas - self-published author, reviewer of popular novels and creator of original short stories

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Imagine, Believe, Create.

Imagine with all your mind, Believe with all your heart and Create with all your beauty.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

