How Far Do You Go?

Does anyone scroll to the bottom of a blog home page? Not really; or so I’ve heard.  So I took a good look at my blog, remembering all the times people visited to read a certain piece, but didn’t venture further.

Shall not passSo what do I do about that?

Creating my space had been one of my favorite parts about starting my blog – learning about all the neat things I could add and customize and then rearranging them to suit my aesthetics was a lot of fun. I actually missed that part of the experience.  I thought I had come up with a design that worked. Considering traffic was stopping where it came in though, I clearly had something wrong.

I remembered then that my theme had a three column layout option! I was only using two.  This made my side bar a little long and cluttered, forcing the reader to go down further than they were obviously willing to. So a tweak here, a shift there and VOILA.  All the info I want ready at hand is now…actually, ready at hand.  Your right to be specific.

And using the handy-dandy “Read More” editing option, should keep my blog concise enough to entice those scroller’s who check how big or short the scroll bar is to decide how much further they will go. (I do it and I can’t be the only one!)

Getting to redesign a little bit was a joy but there’s still some things I want to play with.

I’m taking suggestions!  What makes you click further and explore someone’s blog?

7 thoughts on “How Far Do You Go?

Add yours

    1. That’s really interesting to hear! I’m addicted to my reader. It’s my new Face-crack and it’s usually where I find new blogs I like to follow by following links. Thank you for the feedback!

      1. You’re welcome.

        I was big into my reader for the first year. Then I realized I was spending hours on it instead of writing, editing, and whatever else I needed to do. So it really became a time management issue for me.

    1. I have to say my favorite tip EVER that I have learned so far was the “Read More” option. Also- I noticed on your page that you can’t like or share a piece from the home page. Mine was set up like that too until someone posted this on my blog:

      Just a suggestion:
      Go to Settings>Sharing, and select the checkbox – Front Page, Archive

      Pages, and Search Results
      Now if someone visits your blog, he/she may like the post without opening the post separately. It will help you get more likes on the blog.regards, http://YourWellWisherProgram.wordpress.com

      I think it has helped too!

      Cheers!

      1. Thanks, I did that. I’m finding that some of the themes don’t allow you to do certain things, which is sort of frustrating. But I was able to do this. I really appreciate your upbeat blog. Your personality really shines through your words!

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

labyless

Defining Intangibles

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Drinkers with Writing Problems

Literature by the Lit Up

Useless Book Club

J S Malpas - self-published author, reviewer of popular novels and creator of original short stories

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Imagine, Believe, Create.

Imagine with all your mind, Believe with all your heart and Create with all your beauty.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

