Riddle me this

What do you value most about yourself?

Not what’s your greatest skill or what’s your favorite feature, but what do you value most. When asked, this question set me back a moment.

I really wasn’t sure what I valued most; and that bothered me.

Now, the question was posed by a silly little quiz I found in my news feed on Facebook but the feeling it stirred in me was not little. I realized it had been a long time since I last took stock of myself.

So I thought for a while and was increasingly disturbed by the lack of anything that jumped to mind. I’m generally a happy person and like myself so why was it so hard to verbalize what I value about me?

My very good friend Google told me the definition (noun) of value is:

  1. The regard that something is held to deserve; the importance, worth, or usefulness of something.
  2. A person’s principles or standards of behavior; one’s judgement of what’s important in life

By not being able to answer the question does that mean then that I don’t feel I’m important, useful or worthy?  Does it mean I have no principle’s? No, I don’t think so. It may mean that I’ve lost my personal sense of what’s important in life though.

Being caught up in my life’s routine, I believe, has led me to focus only on what I can I do rather than who I am or want to be. My aspirations have been about gaining things; a promotion at work, more money, items for my house.

As a child I remembered valuing things like kindness and courage and happiness. So I tried to think of the question as the mini-me would have.  Breaking it down to it’s simplicity and clearing my brain of the adult fog that is bills, work and more work.

And then I had an answer.

And now I’m starting a list.

It’s important to look into yourself from time to time. I had forgotten how good it feels.

Give it a try! You will be surprised by what you find and you will discover things you want to cultivate and turn into action. Good natured and positive? Maybe you would find satisfaction volunteering at the hospital or soup kitchen and spreading that brightness around! Brave or courageous? Maybe someone in your life could use that kind support and learn from you.  Whatever it may be, it is a way that you can change the world.

So…what do you value most about yourself?

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

labyless

Defining Intangibles

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Drinkers with Writing Problems

Literature by the Lit Up

Useless Book Club

J S Malpas - self-published author, reviewer of popular novels and creator of original short stories

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Imagine, Believe, Create.

Imagine with all your mind, Believe with all your heart and Create with all your beauty.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

