Testing my Personality

Sunday morning surfing led me to discover this new-to-me website, Helping Writer’s become Authors, and their article on “What’s your writing personality?”

After reading the piece I figured I would fall into the Phlegmatic category:

Phlegmatics are the Steady Eddies. They’re not easily ruffled, which means they get to avoid many of the high and low mood swings the other personality types can be prone to. They’re dependable, thoughtful, and pragmatic. But they can also struggle to find motivation and energy to start—and then finish—projects.

It definitely painted a picture I could easily relate to. I do struggle with motivation and follow through. I’m thoughtful, sometimes to the extent of getting lost in my own, and I’m not easily ruffled.

Another thing I love as much as daydreaming and writing is taking tests. I love aptitude tests, IQ tests and silly tests that tell me what my Hippie name is. (it was Luna btw).  So I went in search of a Writing Personality test that would confirm my Phlegmatic conclusion.

Turns out I was wrong.

According to the test I found at Personalty Tests, I’m actually more in line with the Sanguine temperament.

Your temperament is sanguine. The sanguine temperament is fundamentally spontaneous and pleasure-seeking; sanguine people are sociable and charismatic. They tend to enjoy social gatherings, making new friends and tend to be boisterous. They are usually quite creative and often daydream. However, some alone time is crucial for those of this temperament. Sanguine can also mean sensitive, compassionate and thoughtful. Sanguine personalities generally struggle with following tasks all the way through, are chronically late, and tend to be forgetful and sometimes a little sarcastic. Often, when they pursue a new hobby, they lose interest as soon as it ceases to be engaging or fun. They are very much people persons. They are talkative and not shy. Sanguines generally have an almost shameless nature, certain that what they are doing is right. They have no lack of confidence.

Now, I’m not one to box myself, or anyone else, into one single category. There is always some overlap but I found the Sanguine temperament result to hit home on more points. Again, it says they have trouble following through but the one that jumped up and smacked me was “Often, when they pursue a new hobby, they lose interest as soon as it ceases to be engaging or fun.”

This is exactly me. I will go full steam ahead, immersing myself in a new “thing”, but it doesn’t last long.  As soon as I’ve learned it, completed one, or hit a road block of whatever it is I usually drop that new “thing” as quickly as I picked it up.

This blog for instance was something I dedicated every thought to for two months straight.  I mean every thought, all day long. What did I want it to be? Look like?  What did I have to say or share? Well after a while I was a little bored. I learned a lot – thank you Blogging U! – and although I continued to enjoy the posts from everyone I followed, the initial glow had waned for my own space. Overdosing on a new “thing” is something I am aware of and will continue to work on.

Sanguine Rose from Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Sanguine Rose from Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

There were definitely points that are not me too.  I’m very punctual, I wouldn’t describe myself as talkative and I’m not super confident. All in all though, I connected with it.

Tests like these are not supposed to give you all the answers anyway because they will never fit all of YOU. The overlap is what makes us interesting and unique but it’s fun to try to gain some insight and possibly discover, or re-discover, pieces of yourself. I wonder if I didn’t pick Sanguine right away because I shied away from calling myself charismatic or sociable? (There’s that lack of confidence)

Always test yourself. It doesn’t have to be an actual test but always try to learn more about yourself.  Sometimes you will learn a weakness, sometimes a strength. You will surely emerge more aware and educated about your writing, your personality and your soul.

Let me know what personality you are in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Testing my Personality

Add yours

  1. Well, that might mean your are primarily sanguine, with secondary phlegmatic characteristics. 🙂 I think I’m primarily melancholic, with strong sanguine aspects (I start things with a bang, have an innate sense of rhythm in my writing, and have been told I create compelling characters – but I do often have problems finishing things :). I also relate to you about blogging – I was manic about it for the first 3 months, but have dropped off. Maybe knowing your writing personality can help you identify what motivates you to blog & keeps you coming back. It’s certainly got me thinking. I like your sense of the absurd, and the energy in your writing. I hope you keep at it 🙂 thanks for posting.

    1. Thanks Adrea! I am hoping that by identifying my “type” I will be able to steer myself in the right creative directions and will have better success when I do have to give myself a kick start 🙂

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

labyless

Defining Intangibles

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Drinkers with Writing Problems

Literature by the Lit Up

Useless Book Club

J S Malpas - self-published author, reviewer of popular novels and creator of original short stories

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Imagine, Believe, Create.

Imagine with all your mind, Believe with all your heart and Create with all your beauty.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

