Silence

If silence is splendor than I pray you are magnificent today.

It is my wish and hope every morning that the other side of my cubicle remains dormant.  I’m rarely granted this.  Why do you insist on this punishment?

As you squawk through your previous evening’s activities, the knot between my shoulders tightens as I brace myself for the rest of the day. Then, strangled babbling, and I know you’ve begun to read your email.  Why is it impossible for you to have an internal reaction? Why do you feel certain I care to hear what ridiculous request is being made of you?

I think back to the happy days of your vacation; oh what a week!

You’re sputtering interrupts my reminiscing and I recoil in my seat.  One coffee down, maybe another and I won’t find your mutterings so incessant.

For a brief while there is a light quiet settling as you have apparently decided to do some work.  I’m not really sure what you do exactly, but you’re still here so it must be something.  The fluttering of our fingers on the keyboards are the only sounds and it is glorious.

A faint squeak from the other side of the wall, but I look at the clock and am thrilled that it is lunch time. I can deal with that later.

My hour away from you is everything to me.

The hush of my mind whispers sweet words of sanity as I enjoy my peaceful interlude alone.  By the time the clock has ticked away my last stolen moment I feel ready to face the barrage once again.

I’m settling in as the first notes of your music reach me. I recognize the playlist and I realize my afternoon is doomed.

The songs I once cherished from Whitney & Mariah are utterly ruined by the dissonance you are creating. Your staccato chirps are making my ears bleed. Oblivious to the fact there are no impenetrable walls surrounding you, you continue to torture me with your toneless tunes.

The moving hands on the clock are my only solace against the cacophony that is you. The hour of escape is near and I can barely stay in my seat. I shall have my sweet relief in one, two, three; and there it is ladies and gentlemen! Time to exit the building! There will not be any encores requested thank you very much and no one will be clamoring for your autograph.

As I run into the street the passing traffic and people are like a sorbet to my brain. I can breath again and the quiet humming of my car’s engine taking me home is beckoning me like a siren song.

Maybe the morning will be different. Perhaps the magnificence I long for you will manifest itself tomorrow.

My 500 Words prompt today was to “write about silence”. My take is obviously someone’s desperate want of it at work. Might be a true story 🙂

3 thoughts on “Silence

Add yours

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

labyless

Defining Intangibles

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Drinkers with Writing Problems

Literature by the Lit Up

Useless Book Club

J S Malpas - self-published author, reviewer of popular novels and creator of original short stories

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Imagine, Believe, Create.

Imagine with all your mind, Believe with all your heart and Create with all your beauty.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

