Reading & Writing do not go hand in hand

At least, not for me.

If I’m in the writing zone I don’t even look at a book.  If I’ve been bitten by the reading bug I won’t go near my laptop.

For whatever reason I can’t seem to do either with any sort of moderation.

When I pick up a book, I rarely put it down until it’s finished. (minus the times I fall asleep reading and my book falls to the floor) If I do put a book down, I’m probably not that into it and I might not go back to it unless I’m trying to prove something, like I can read new authors, outside my favorite genres, or someone has suggested it to me.

When I’m writing, I’m just not inclined to read. I have so many of my own ideas up in my head it’s like I can’t crowd the room with another’s creativity. I will read articles and other blogger’s posts but I won’t get into a book.

Reading is important for a writer and I’m finding it a struggle to find a balance between the two.

Anyone else have this problem?  Have you found a solution? I’d love to hear it.

The reason I’m really frustrated with my binges is I’m trying to complete a few goals. First is entering some writing contests this summer and the first deadline is fast approaching. Second, I started the 500 words challenge and I’m just not keeping up.  I haven’t given up but I also haven’t been consistent.

Maybe I just have to give up reading for the rest of the summer… lol as if!  I need focus and structure to achieve my goals but I haven’t found something that works yet. So I’m open to suggestions 🙂

3 thoughts on “Reading & Writing do not go hand in hand

Add yours

  1. The more of your blogs I read I can see that you are taking the time to discover and understand yourself. I am sure it will be a very important tool as you try to discover and understand your characters.- Mom

  2. If the book is really good, I stop almost everything until I read “The End.” So for me it depends on the book. Sometimes I’m reading two or three at a time. Reading feeds my soul, writing is my outlet for all my thoughts and emotions.

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

labyless

Defining Intangibles

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Drinkers with Writing Problems

Literature by the Lit Up

Useless Book Club

J S Malpas - self-published author, reviewer of popular novels and creator of original short stories

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Imagine, Believe, Create.

Imagine with all your mind, Believe with all your heart and Create with all your beauty.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

